INDIAN INSTITUTE OF INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY, KALYANI

An Institute of National Importance

(Autonomous Institution under MOE, Govt. of India & Department of Information Technology & Electronics, Govt. of West Bengal) WEBEL IT Park,14, Adivasi Para, Opposite of Kalyani Water Treatment Plant Near Buddha Park, Dist. Nadia, P.O. Kalyani - 741235, West Bengal.

Minutes of the 5th Senate Meeting held on January 20, 2022 at4:00 PM scheduled online through Google Meet https://meet.google.com/kdb-yxod-vkq

Members Present

1) Prof. Santanu Chattopadhyay : Chairperson

Director IIIT Kalyani

2) Prof. Prabir Biswas : External Expert nominated

Deptt. of Electronics & Elec. Comm. Engg. by the BoG

IIT Kharagpur

3) Prof. Dipanwita Roy Chowdhury : External Expert nominated

Deptt. Of Computer Science & Engineering by the BoG

IIT Kharagpur

5) Prof. Utpal Garain : External Expert nominated

Computer Vision & Pattern Recognition Unit by the BoG

ISI, Kolkata

6) Dr. Imon Mukherjee : Member

Assistant Professor, IIIT Kalyani

7) Dr. Uma Das : Member

Assistant Professor, IIIT Kalyani

8) Dr. SK Hafizul Islam : Member

Assistant Professor, IIIT Kalyani

9) Dr. Oishila Bandyopadhyay : Member

Assistant Professor, IIIT Kalyani

10) Dr. Sanjoy Prathihar : Member

Assistant Professor, IIIT Kalyani

11) Dr. Dalia Nandi : Member

Assistant Professor, IIIT Kalyani

12) Dr. Anirban Lakshman : Member

Assistant Professor, IIIT Kalyani

13) Dr. Debasish Bera : Member

Assistant Professor, IIIT Kalyani

14) Dr. Rinky Sha : Member

Assistant Professor, IIIT Kalyani

15) Dr. Pratik Chakraborty : Member

Assistant Professor, IIIT Kalyani

16) Dr. Muruganantham Ponnusamy : Secretary

Deputy Registrar, IIIT Kalyani

At the outset, Chairman extended a hearty welcome to the External Experts nominated by the BoG to the Senate of IIIT Kalyani and explained the academic structure of IIIT Kalyani to them. The Chairman and other internal members of the Senate expressed their confidence that the academic guidance received from these eminent experts will help the Institute to excel in academics in the coming days. Contributions of the outgoing experts, Prof. Indranil Sengupta from IIT Kharagpur, Prof. Hafizur Rahaman from IIEST Shibpur and Prof. Chandan Majumder from Jadavpur University were acknowledged and put on records.

Next, the agenda items were taken up and the following resolutions were taken:

Item No. 1: Confirmation of minutes of the 4th Senate Meeting held on April 6, 2021.

As no comments have been received, the minutes of the 4th Senate Meeting were confirmed.

Item No. 2: Action taken report on the resolutions of 4th Senate Meeting.

The Senate was informed that the PhD enrolment of Manas Roy, Brototi Mondal, Bipasha Chakrborty and Indrani Mukherjee have been cancelled.

Item No. 3: Academic calendar for spring 2021-22.

The Senate approved the academic calendar noted in Annexure-1.

Item No. 4: List of Holidays for the year 2022.

The Senate approved the list of holidays noted in Annexure-2.

Item No. 5: Achievements of faculty members and Students of IIIT Kalyani.

The Senate appreciated the achievements of faculty members and students noted in Annexure-3.

Item No. 6: Online M.Tech course proposal on "Advanced Communication Systems and Signal Processing".

The Senate approved the course content (Annexure-4). However, looking into the fact that the course is targeted to the working professionals and of duration of six semesters, recommended that the course be named as an "Executive M.Tech". Senate also recommended the ongoing M.Tech program on "Artificial Intelligence and Data Science" be renamed as another "Executive M.Tech" from the next academic session.

Item No. 7: Request received from Dr. Pratik Chakraborty to continue PhD supervision of Ms. Amrita Mukherjee, registered at NIT Durgapur.

The Senate approved continuance of Dr. Pratik Chakraborty as co-supervisor of Ms. Amrita Mukherjee subject to the acceptance of the same by NIT Durgapur.

Item No. 8: Modification in PhD regulation.

The Senate accepted the modified PhD regulations (Annexure-5).

Item No. 9: Termination of two PhD students.

The Senate recommended that formal letters be sent from the Institute to Fakruddin Ali Ahmed and Anindita Sarkar with an indication of termination. In the event of not receiving satisfactory response, their enrolment be cancelled and reported to the Senate.

Item No. 10: List of courses for PhD students including NPTEL courses

The Senate approved the list of courses presented in Annexure-6.

Item No. 11: Proposed subject codes for the M. Tech (AI & Data Science) curriculum.

The Senate approved the modified codes for M.Tech (AI & Data Science) curriculum noted in Annexure-7.

Item No. 12: DSC and External Members for the new PhD students joined in Autumn 2021-22.

The Senate approved the DSC and External Members for the new PhD students as presented in Annexure-8.

Item No. 13: DSC restructuring for few PhD students.

The Senate approved the restructured DSCs as noted in Annexure-9.

Item No. 14: Ratification of a special case of a student allowed to pursue his first semester with the next batch admitted on 2021-22 with a fee waiving option on Medical ground.

The Senate ratified that Suresh V. Rathod (CSE/20068/588) be allowed to pursue his first semester in 2021-22.

Item No. 15: Ratification of a special case of a student allowed to pursue his first semester with the next batch admitted on 2021 - 22 without a fee waiving option.

The Senate ratified that Pulimi Chetan Reddy (CSE/20065/585) be allowed to pursue his first semester in 2021-22.

Item No. 16: Ratification of a special case of a student allowed to register beyond the limited permissible credits of 30 per semester to 32 credits.

Considering that Prabhat Kumar Jha is a student in the 8th semester, had some medical issues and is improving academically with last semester GPA of 7.48, the Senate ratified his registration for 32 credits, as a special case.

Item No. 17: Ratification of Decision on Continuous Assessment for Spring 2021-22 (for all batches) and Autumn 2021-22 (Delayed for First Year, first semester – December 2021 to March 2022).

Considering the pandemic situation, the Senate approved to have continuous mode of assessment for all the batches mentioned in the agenda item.

Item No. 18: Result of Autumn 2021-22.

The Senate approved the result of Autumn 2020 semester noted in Annexure-10. The Senate was informed that due to miscommunication in the online mode, a few students had some confusions in the subjects registered in the last semester. As a result, they did classes regularly, appeared for tests for evaluation and the subject teachers have graded them as well. The Senate approved the grades for the students in the subjects noted in the following table, as a one-time measure.

Name of the Student	Roll and Reg Number	Course Code	Course Name	Credits	Grade submitted by Faculty
Gorantla Satwik	340	CS-604	Cognitive Science and Technology	3	P net reveal
		CS-611	Computer Networks Lab	2	Р
		CS-601	Computer Networks	3	name a la Philosophia
Manike Kargil	351	CS-603	Machine Learning	3	D
		CS-604	Cognitive Science and Technology	3	Р
Prabhat Kumar Jha	366	CS-603	Machine Learning	3	В
		CS-604	Cognitive Science and Technology	3	P

Item Number 19: Any Other Matter with the Permission of the Chair

No other matter for discussion.

Meeting ended with thanks to and from the Chairman

orfor gin

Dr. Muruganantham Ponnusamy Deputy Registrar, IIIT Kalyani - Secretary

Approved by

Director IIIT Kalyani

(Chairman Senate)