INDIAN INSTITUTE OF INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY, KALYANI

An Institute of National Importance

(Autonomous Institution under MOE, Govt. of India & Department of Information Technology & Electronics, Govt. of West Bengal) WEBEL IT Park,14, Adivasi Para, Opposite of Kalyani Water Treatment Plant Near Buddha Park, Dist. Nadia, P.O. Kalyani - 741235, West Bengal.

External Expert nominated

Minutes of the 6th Senate Meeting held on August 3, 2022 at 5:00 PM scheduled physically for internal members and online through Google meet for external members

Members Present

1) Prof. Santanu Chattopadhyay : Chairperson

Director IIIT Kalyani

2) Dr. Muruganantham Ponnusamy : Secretary

Deputy Registrar, IIIT Kalyani

3) Prof. Prabir Biswas : External Expert nominated

Deptt. of Electronics & Elec. Comm. Engg. by the BoG

IIT Kharagpur4) Prof. Dipanwita Roy Chowdhury

Deptt. Of Computer Science & Engineering by the BoG

IIT Kharagpur

5) Prof. Utpal Garain : External Expert nominated

Computer Vision & Pattern Recognition Unit by the BoG

ISI, Kolkata

6) Dr.Imon Mukherjee : Member

Assistant Professor, IIIT Kalyani

7) Dr.Uma Das : Member

Assistant Professor, IIIT Kalyani

8) Dr.SK Hafizul Islam : Member

Assistant Professor, IIIT Kalyani

9) Dr. Oishila Bandyopadhyay : Member

Assistant Professor, IIIT Kalyani

10) Dr. Sanjoy Prathihar : Member

Assistant Professor, IIIT Kalyani

11) Dr. Dalia Nandi : Member

Assistant Professor, IIIT Kalyani

12) Dr. Anirban Lakshman : Member

Assistant Professor, IIIT Kalyani

13) Dr. Debasish Bera : Member

Assistant Professor, IIIT Kalyani

14) Dr. Rinky Sha : Member

Assistant Professor, IIIT Kalyani

15) Dr. Pratik Chakraborty : Member

Assistant Professor, IIIT Kalyani

At the outset, Chairman extended hearty welcome to the External Experts. It has been felt that in the context of physical classes started in this semester, the academic requirements be thoroughly checked and appropriate steps be taken for the smooth functioning of the Institute.

Next, the agenda items were taken up and the following resolutions were taken:

Item No. 1: Confirmation of minutes of the 5th Senate Meeting held on January 20, 2022.

As no comments have been received, the minutes of the 5th Senate Meeting were confirmed.

Item No. 2: Action taken report on the resolutions of 5th Senate Meeting.

The Senate was informed that the PhD enrolment of Fakruddin Ali Ahmed and Anindita Sarkar have been cancelled.

Item No. 3: Academic calendar for Autumn 2022-23.

The Senate approved the academic calendar noted in Annexure-1.

Item No. 4: Achievements of faculty members and Students of IIIT Kalyani.

The Senate appreciated the achievements of faculty members noted in Annexure-2.

Item No. 5: Cancellation of PhD enrolment.

The Senate approved the cancellation of enrolment of Sunil Gupta and Prasanta Mandal. The DSC should make an assessment of the research progress of Ananya Das, in terms of problem definition, research direction etc. and a report be placed in the next Senate. For Ipsita Ghosh, a letter be sent from the Institute asking her views about continuation of PhD. In the event of not receiving satisfactory reply, the enrolment be cancelled.

Item No. 6: To allow existing PhD scholars of different categories to be converted into regular scholar with Institute Teaching Assistantship.

The Senate agreed to extend the facility to the existing scholars of other categories, however, it should be advertised among all such scholars and proper test and/or interview be held to select the candidates to be offered the Teaching Assistantship.

Item No. 7: Request received from Dr. SK Hafizul Islam to continue PhD co-supervision of a PhD student Ms. Preeti Soni at IIT (ISM) Dhanbad, Jkharkhand.

The Senate approved the request.

Item No. 8: Request received from Dr. Sanjoy Pratihar to continue PhD supervision of a PhD student Md. Ajij at NIT Meghalaya.

The Senate approved the request.

Item No. 9: Ratification of the decision to allow Ms Srutiparna Neogi to continue her PhD on medical ground, accommodating the break.

The Senate allowed the student to continue her PhD work.

Item No. 10: Ratification of conducting the pending EC-111 laboratory subject of students admitted in 2020-21 in online mode.

The Senate approved the conduction of the pending laboratory in online mode.

Item No. 11: Ratification of Grade Change of Purnendu Vashistha (Reg no 487) for the paper CS-691.

The Senate approved the grade revision.

Item No. 12: Publication of semester results.

The results (Annexure-3) was approved by the Senate. The failure list (Annexure-4) was also approved.

Item No. 13: Academic load distribution for faculty members

The academic load of the faculty members was approved by the Senate.

Item No. 14: Academic load for Soumen Biswas (CSE/20084/604)

The Senate recommended the following subjects for Soumen Biswas.

Subject Code	Subject Name	Credit
ELASTIC CONTROL AND		
MA-101	Mathematics – I (Linear Algebra)	4
EC-101	Basic Electrical and Electronics Engineering	3
EC-111	Basic Electronics Engineering Lab	2
MAC301	Mathematics – III (Calculus and Differential	4
	Equations)	
CSC303	Discrete Mathematics	4
CSC312	Algorithms – I Lab	2
Total Credits Offered		19

Item No. 15: List of graduating students and award winners.

The Senate approved the list of graduating students (Annexure-5) and award winners.

Item No. 16: Any other matter with the permission of the chair.

It was pointed out that several students have submitted e-Migration certificates. However, the submitted certificates are not having digital signatures. The Senate directed the Institute to check with the respective university/institute whether normal migration is being issued by them. In the case of non-availability of such certificate, declaration from the student should also be taken regarding the same certifying that he/she is not admitted to any other university/institute at present.

Meeting ended with thanks to and from the Chairman

Dr. Muruganantham Ponnusamy

Deputy Registrar, IIIT Kalyani - Secretary

Approved by

Director IIIT Kalyani (Chairman Senate)